← Resources & Articles

Managing Your Account

Preparing Your Archive Before Canceling

Before canceling a paid subscription, we recommend that you download a complete PDF copy of your archive (available on Standard and Premium tiers), and that you export a ZIP file of all of your account data (available on all tiers). You'll find the export under My Account, in the My Data section: choose Export my data and download the ZIP. You can use this ZIP file in the future to restore your Quiltacy archive, so save the files someplace safe.

A multicolor patchwork sampler quilt

What happens when you cancel

When you cancel a paid subscription, you keep full access to your account until the end of your current billing period. At the end of your billing period, your account will revert to the Free tier.

On the Free tier, you'll still be able to access and edit your five most recent records. Printing and your Public Gallery link aren't available on the free plan. Records beyond your five most recent will be locked, but saved in your account for a full year. If you restart a paid subscription within that year, your account will be reinstated with all of your records unlocked.

We'll send you a reminder email about 6 months, 30 days, and 7 days before the year is up. After one year, we'll remove the extra records (along with their photos) to free up storage space.

Restoring your archive

Whenever you are ready to re-subscribe, log in to your account (or create a new one) and start a paid subscription. Then open My Account and find the Restore from export section under My Data.

This feature will prompt you to upload your saved files to restore your account. It can accept a ZIP file, or the contents of the unzipped folder (the Data CSV File and the Record Photos folder, which holds a photo folder for each record). Records that already exist in your account are skipped automatically.

Please note that once that year has passed, Quiltacy can't restore an account without these files. We have no way to reconstruct records or photos that were not exported before they were removed.

  1. Export your data

    From My Account

  2. Make a backup

    Save both files, in different places

  3. Cancel

    Cancel your subscription

  4. Your account reverts to the free tier

    Your 5 most recent records are accessible

  5. 1 Year

    Account data is saved for one year

    Extra quilt records are locked, and we send reminders along the way

  6. Remainder of your data is deleted, to free up storage space

  7. When you're ready to resubscribe, upgrade to a paid account

  8. Restore your data using your exported file

Have more questions about your subscription?

Visit the FAQ →